Our People

Marcus Tatton, Sunday Afternoon, 2011

A Word From Our Chair

It is an honour to lead the renewed Sculpture on the Gulf (SOTG) board as we work hard to bring an exciting new exhibition to our Te Whetumatarau Headland site between 4-27 March 2022.

Our board, together with a talented curatorial team, is proud to honour the founding vision for this iconic event. With your help, we will make 2022 an incredible ‘must-attend’ Art & Nature experience. Though our border status will likely remain unknown, we’re confident kiwis will continue to “try something new New Zealand” and accept our invitation to experience a world-class event like no other. We thank you in advance for your support.

Our People

Warwick Grey – Chair

Warwick Grey has been a resident of Waiheke Island for 28 years, and he and his wife Stephanie have lived full-time on the island for 15 years. He has been the driving force behind the highly successful silent auction at the primary fundraising event for the Westpac Rescue Helicopter. Warwick brings significant marketing and information technology expertise to Sculpture on the Gulf.

Sarah Judkins

Sarah lives on Waiheke Island with her partner Jason. She brings considerable arts management and business flair to the board. She is the chair of the Waiheke Community Art Gallery and serves as a Trustee of the Auckland Arts Festival. Sarah currently leads the mergers and acquisitions team at Fonterra and has 20 years of experience working with business managers and stakeholders in a wide range of industries in New Zealand and Asia.

Jon Ewer

An island resident since 1999, Jon Ewer has many years of governance experience in both the private sector and not-for-profit organisations. He has a background in engineering and is a Senior Technical Director with Beca. Jon is a committee member and steadfast supporter of the Waiheke Community Art Gallery. Having served on the Board of Sculpture on the Gulf in 2013 and helped organise the 2015 and 2017 events.

Fiona Blanchard

Fiona is a highly experienced cultural sector leader who has headed up world-class, customer-centric, and operational teams for the City of Sydney, Auckland War Memorial Museum, and City Gallery Wellington. A resident of Waiheke for four years, Fiona and her husband Mike are passionate about the people, community, and place.

Dr Kriselle Baker

Kriselle (Ngāpuhi, Ngaruahine) splits her time between Waiheke and Auckland, where she works as an arts writer, editor, and publisher. She has a Ph.D. in Art History from The University of Auckland with an undergraduate degree in languages. Kriselle was a founding member of the Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki Contemporary Benefactors and has served on the Board of Te Tuhi and The Hotere Foundation.

Mikki-Tae Tapara

Taupiri te Maunga, Waikato te Awa, Tainui te Waka, he piko he taniwha. A resident of Waiheke, Mikki-tae has more than 22 years of event management experience. Clients include Iwi, Auckland Council, and multinational corporations. He has produced the Matariki Festival, the Waitangi Festival, TUIA 250, and events for ATEED (Auckland Tourism, Events, and Economic Development). He is a Rereteewhioi Marae chair and trustee and a project manager at Toi Aotearoa (Creative New Zealand).

Mark Kingsford

Mark has lived on Waiheke for 14 years with his wife Sally and their three boys. In this time, Mark has coached local rugby, football, and cricket teams and served as Chair of Te Huruhi Primary School Board of Trustees. A qualified accountant with over 25 years of experience in New Zealand and abroad, Mark advises a wide variety of boards and management teams, including NZX and various charities. Mark is a trustee on the Rotary Club of Auckland Foundation and is an Auckland City Centre Advisory Board member.

Erika Yigsaw

Erika grew up on Waiheke Island. She began her professional career as a barrister and solicitor with Bell Gully Buddle Weir, then moved to the United States to take on a progression of roles in Executive Leadership in Higher Education. Erika has held various positions, including serving as the Senior Vice President at the Australasian College of Health Sciences, Chief Compliance Officer, Chief Strategy Officer, President, and CEO at American College of Healthcare Sciences. She and her family are recent returnees to the island.

Management Team

Janis McArdle - Secretary

Janis has lived on the island for nearly nine years and has been a trail volunteer for all Sculpture on the Gulf events since her arrival. She is a former director of the Waiheke Literary Festival and is also involved with community theatre. She is an experienced general manager now consulting as a performance and leadership coach. Janis provides governance support for the Board of Sculpture on The Gulf.

Patron & Benefactor Committee

Jonathan Rutherford Best

Patron & Benefactor Committee

Joanna Chaplin

Patron & Benefactor Committee

Kirsty Wilkinson

Patron & Benefactor Committee